Research and Development of Dye-Sensitized Solar Cells in the Center for Molecular Devices: From Molecules to Modules

Gerrit Boschloo
Uppsala University, Uppsala, Sweden

Anders Hagfeldt
Uppsala University, Uppsala, Sweden

Håkan Rensmo
Uppsala University, Uppsala, Sweden

Lars Kloo
Royal Institute of Technology, Stockholm, Sweden

Licheng Sun
Royal Institute of Technology, Stockholm, Sweden

Henrik Pettersson
Swerea IVF, Mölndal, Sweden

Ladda ner artikelhttp://dx.doi.org/10.3384/ecp110572800

Ingår i: World Renewable Energy Congress - Sweden; 8-13 May; 2011; Linköping; Sweden

Linköping Electronic Conference Proceedings 57:15, s. 2800-2806

Visa mer +

Publicerad: 2011-11-03

ISBN: 978-91-7393-070-3

ISSN: 1650-3686 (tryckt), 1650-3740 (online)


Dye-sensitized solar cells (DSCs) represent a relatively new photovoltaic technology with great potential: investment costs for initiating production are low and manufacturing costs below 0.5 US$/Wpeak are predicted. Furthermore; DSC offers the possibility of various colors and attractive designs; such as semitransparent modules. Record solar cell efficiencies are 11% for DSCs containing liquid redox electrolyte and 6% for DSCs with solid hole conductors. Promising stability data suggesting more than 20 years lifetime has been achieved. This paper presents the Center for Molecular Devices (CMD) in Sweden; which has as its objective to investigate and develop DSCs. Using a multi-disciplinary approach; significant advances in the scientific understanding of DSCs have been made; such as the demonstration of the presence of an internal electric field at the semiconductor / dye / electrolyte interface. Furthermore; novel components; such as triphenylamine-based dyes and cobalt-based mediator have been successfully tested. Finally; a monolithic DSC module technology with good performance is presented.


Dye-sensitized solar cell; PV modules


[1] A. Hagfeldt; G. Boschloo; L. Sun; L. Kloo; H. Pettersson; Chem. Rev. 110 (2010) 6595. doi: 10.1021/cr900356p.

[2] G. Smestad; C. Bignozzi; R. Argazzi; Sol. Energy Mater. Sol. Cells 33 (1994) 253. doi: 10.1016/0927-0248(94)90211-9.

[3] J. M. Kroon; N. J. Bakker; H. J. P. Smit; P. Liska; K. R. Thampi; P. Wang; S. M. Zakeeruddin; M. Grätzel; A. Hinsch; S. Hore; U. Würfel; R. Sastrawan; J. R. Durrant; E. Palomares; H. Pettersson; T. Gruszecki; J. Walter; K. Skupien; G. E. Tulloch; Prog. Photovolt.: Res. Appl. 15 (2007) 1. doi: 10.1002/pip.707.

[4] D. P. Hagberg; T. Edvinsson; T. Marinado; G. Boschloo; A. Hagfeldt; L. Sun; Chem. Commun. (2006) 2245. doi: 10.1039/b603002e.

[5] G. Boschloo; T. Marinado; K. Nonomura; T. Edvinsson; A. G. Agrios; D. P. Hagberg; L. Sun; M. Quintana; C. S. Karthikeyan; M. Thelakkat; A. Hagfeldt; Thin Solid Films 516 (2008) 7214–7217. doi: 10.1016/j.tsf.2007.12.035.

[6] S. M. Feldt; E. A. Gibson; E. Gabrielsson; L. Sun; G. Boschloo; A. Hagfeldt; J. Am. Chem. Soc. 132 (2010) 16714. doi: 10.1021/ja1088869.

[7] G. Boschloo; A. Hagfeldt; Acc. Chem. Res. 42 (2009) 1819. doi: 10.1021/ar900138m.

[8] K. Fredin; E. M. J. Johansson; T. Blom; M. Hedlund; S. Plogmaker; H. Siegbahn; K. Leifer; H. Rensmo; Synth. Metals 159 (2009) 166. doi: 10.1016/j.synthmet.2008.06.029.

[9] U. B. Cappel; E. A. Gibson; A. Hagfeldt; G. Boschloo; J. Phys. Chem. C 113 (2009) 6275. doi: 10.1021/jp811196h.

[10] U. B. Cappel; M. H. Karlsson; N. G. Pschirer; F. Eickemeyer; J. Schöneboom; P. Erk; G. Boschloo; A. Hagfeldt; J. Phys. Chem. C 113 (2009) 14595. doi: 10.1021/jp906409q.

[11] M. Hahlin; E. M. J. Johansson; S. Plogmaker; M. Odelius; D. P. Hagberg; L. Sun; H. Siegbahn; H. Rensmo; Phys. Chem. Chem. Phys. 12 1507.

[12] M. Zuleta; S. Yu; S. Ahmadi; G. Boschloo; M. Göthelid; A. Hagfeldt; Langmuir 26 (2010) 13236. doi: 10.1021/la100123q.

[13] G. Boschloo; L. Häggman; A. Hagfeldt; J. Phys. Chem. B 110 (2006) 13144. doi: 10.1021/jp0619641.

[14] Z. Yu; M. Gorlov; G. Boschloo; L. Kloo; J. Phys. Chem. C ASAP.

[15] U. B. Cappel; S. M. Feldt; J. Schoneboom; A. Hagfeldt; G. Boschloo; J. Am. Chem. Soc. 132 (2010) 9096. doi: .

[16] H. Pettersson; T. Gruszecki; R. Bernhard; L. Häggman; M. Gorlov; G. Boschloo; T. Edvinsson; L. Kloo; A. Hagfeldt; Prog. Photovolt: Res. Appl. 15 (2007) 113–121. doi: 10.1002/pip.713.

[17] H. Pettersson; T. Gruszecki; C. Schnetz; M. Streit; Y. Xu; L. Sun; M. Gorlov; L. Kloo; G. Boschloo; L. Häggman; A. Hagfeldt; Prog. Photovolt.: Res. Appl. 18 (2010) 340. doi: 10.1002/pip.971.

Citeringar i Crossref